District and School Effectiveness

The District and School Effectiveness department is responsible for developing systems, processes, and protocols that facilitate district and school improvement. We support teachers and leaders with assessments of and for learning, data analysis, strategic planning, technology integration, implementation of interventions, progress monitoring, and the use of evidence-based tools designed to increase student achievement and growth. We provide oversight for planning and professional learning on Cognia’s Performance Standards that are used for continuous improvement and district accreditation.

 

The department is comprised of the following divisions: Assessments, Federal Programs, Houston Virtual, School Records, and Technology. All divisions within the department work together cohesively and collaborate with other district departments to align our work with Georgia’s Systems of Continuous Improvement and Cognia’s Performance Standards. 

 

Departments of District & School Effectiveness

Assessments
Federal Programs
Houston Virtual
Student Records
Technology
GADOE Division of School and District Effectiveness

Staff

 

 

Lazunia Frierson

Assistant Superintendent of

District and School Effectiveness

(478) 210-8132

lazunia.frierson@hcbe.net

 

 

Wanda Holland

Administrative Assistant

(478) 210-8132

wanda.holland@hcbe.net

Steven Hornyak

Director of

District and School Effectiveness

(478) 292-5697

steven.hornyak@hcbe.net

 

  

Alanna Gardner

Secretary

(478) 292-5697

alanna.gardner@hcbe.net

Tamara Jacobs

Technician

(478) 988-6328

tamara.jacobs@hcbe.net


  

 

Jennifer Stafford

Data Analyst

(478) 210-8116

jennifer.stafford@hcbe.net

  

 

 

Jennifer Byrd

District Intervention Specialist

(478) 313-4004

jennifer.byrd@hcbe.net